Ongoing partnership; payment schedule and revenue split negotiated. 40+ staff preferred; established records; case-by-case review. Confirm the final scope and acceptance terms before providing records.
This profile checks the public program and its stated terms. It does not authenticate a particular sender, audit completed deals, or certify security practices. No owner rating or paid-outcome estimate is assigned.
How evidence is checked · Commercial disclosureWhat is Scale AI’s company-data program?
Scale's data-partnership program seeks structured, de-identified records from established businesses. Its emphasis is a continuing relationship with owner approval for each data package. Official program ↗
Who is the counterparty?
Scale AI is categorized here as direct licensing. This describes the published route, not necessarily the entity that trains an AI model. Confirm the contracting company, its authority to license the records and the ultimate permitted recipients. A real company can still be impersonated; reach its program through the official source linked here.
Which records does it describe?
Data warehouse records and schemas, Chat histories, Email and calendar records, Documents and metadata, Tickets and knowledge bases, CRM, HR, ERP and support records. Official program ↗
What does that mean for your archive?
Map these categories to the systems and date ranges your company actually retains. Include linked decisions and outcomes where available, but identify customer restrictions, personal information, third-party content and privileged material separately. A match with a listed category is a reason to ask about eligibility, not approval to send an export.
Which companies may qualify?
Forty employees is the preferred starting point, with case-by-case assessment. Scale also seeks years of records, real workflows, domain expertise and an accountable decision-maker. Official program ↗
How much does Scale AI publish?
$10K–$1M+ illustrative partnership value (provider marketing; illustrative and cadence-dependent). Official program ↗
How should you interpret that figure?
Published bands, illustrative calculators and quoted examples are different types of evidence. None is a guaranteed price for your company. Where no range has been verified, do not fill the gap with another provider’s estimate. Request a written proposal identifying the records, rights, deductions and conditions behind the amount.
When and how is payment described?
The program describes ongoing monetization rather than a one-time transfer. A universal payment schedule, guaranteed recurring amount or revenue-share percentage is not stated. Official program ↗
What does this business model mean for an owner?
A stated licensing program does not make every submission payable. Ask which milestone creates the payment obligation, who decides acceptance, how a rejected dataset is handled, and whether exclusivity starts before any money is due.
Which evidence is available, and what is still open?
These labels describe disclosure, not quality scores. “Verify in writing” means this review does not establish the term for your transaction.
| Criterion | Evidence status | Owner check |
|---|---|---|
| Program identity | Official source linked | Use the provider’s own domain to verify the sender and contracting entity. |
| Record fit | Categories described | Data warehouse records and schemas, Chat histories, Email and calendar records. Ask for a bounded scope. |
| Eligibility | Published description | Forty employees is the preferred starting point, with case-by-case assessment. Scale also seeks years of records, real workflows, domain expertise and an accountable decision-maker. |
| Price visibility | Attributed public claim | $10K–$1M+ illustrative partnership value (provider marketing; illustrative and cadence-dependent) |
| Payment mechanics | Published description | The program describes ongoing monetization rather than a one-time transfer. A universal payment schedule, guaranteed recurring amount or revenue-share percentage is not stated. |
| Exclusivity and downstream rights | Verify in writing | Confirm duration, permitted uses, sublicensing and whether competing licenses are allowed. |
| Acceptance and deletion | Verify in writing | Specify rejection rules, access expiry, retention and deletion of samples and rejected records. |
What is not yet established?
- Confirm delivery cadence, payment triggers, minimum commitments and termination rights.
- Illustrative partnership values are not individual quotes or evidence of typical seller returns.
How should you start the conversation?
Begin with a non-sensitive description of your company, systems, approximate history and record categories. Ask for the legal entity name and proposed use before providing samples. Use a separately scoped sample with agreed handling terms; a request for broad administrator access deserves a specific explanation and a limited-access alternative.
Questions to resolve before signing
- Which exact records and time periods are included, and which are excluded?
- Who accepts the data, using what test, and by what deadline?
- What amount reaches us after fees and costs, and when is it due?
- Which customers or labs may receive copies, and for which uses?
- Can we license the same records elsewhere, and what happens if no buyer is found?
- How are samples, rejected records and retained copies deleted or restricted?
Which alternatives are worth comparing?
These are comparison routes, not ranked recommendations. Similar program models come first; eligibility and current demand can still differ. Compare the same record scope with each provider.
| Provider / model | Payment | Published figure | Fit to investigate |
|---|---|---|---|
| Scale AIDirect licensing | Ongoing partnership; payment schedule and revenue split negotiated | $10K–$1M+ illustrative partnership valueprovider marketing; illustrative and cadence-dependent | 40+ staff preferred; established records; case-by-case review Source ↗ |
| NyneDirect licensing | After dataset delivery and acceptance, under the agreement | $42,068–$98,500 calculator example: 100 staff, 10 yearscalculator example; not an offer | 20+ US W-2 staff and 3+ years of operational workflows Source ↗ |
| AppenDirect licensing | Negotiated fee on acceptance; preparation costs covered | Not publicly verified | Enterprises with operational history; wind-downs considered Source ↗ |
| CorpusDirect licensing | On delivery confirmation; larger deals may use tranches | $100K–$2M+ across published company-size bandsprovider-reported engagement ranges | Enterprise archives; published size examples start at 25 staff Source ↗ |
| Google Content Offer PilotDirect licensing | Negotiated delivery fee; non-exclusive licensing | Not publicly verified | Invited content owners with sufficient rights; applications reviewed Source ↗ |
See all 25 providers side by side · Read the detailed two-provider comparisons
Have a proposal from Scale AI?
Record the amount, scope, payment trigger and open terms in the local comparison worksheet. It organizes the information you enter; it does not value your archive, contact providers or publish individual offers.
Sources & further reading
Provider statements are attributed claims, not audited outcomes. Reviewed 19 October 2026.